Owls and Bats

Standard

The Plan

Books

owls and bats books

Cock-a-doodle-hoooo! by Mick Manning
Wise Up, Silly Owl! by Steve Metzger
The Bat Jamboree by Kathi Appelt
Bats at the Library by Brian Lies
 

Extension Activities

Action Rhyme/Song: “Spin Again” by Jim Gill’s Do Re Mi on his Toe Leg Knee cd

Jim Gill Do Re Mi

Action Rhyme/Song: Fowl Count

Sung to: Skip to My Lou

Owl in the tree goes, “Hoo, hoo hoo,”
Owl in the tree goes, “Hoo, hoo hoo,”
Owl in the tree goes, “Hoo, hoo hoo,”
Skip to my lou, my darling.

Robin in the nest goes, “Tweet, tweet, tweet…”
Duck in the pond goes, “Quack, quack, quack…”
Rooster in the yard goes, “Cock a doodle doo…”

Action Rhyme: Five Hoot Owls

Five hoot owls sittin’ in a tree
One flew away! How many do you see?
One, two, three, four.
Four hoot owls sittin’ in a tree
One flew away! How many do you see?
One, two, three.
(keep counting down to none)

Action Rhyme: Two Little Black Bats

Two little black bats,
Hanging in a cave.
One named Demetri
And one named Dave.
Fly away Demetri.
Fly away Dave.
Come back Demetri.
Come back Dave!

Action Rhyme: Five Little Bats

Five little bats on a dark, dark night.
Five little bats are quite a sight.

Five little bats.Are you keeping score?
One flies away and then there are four.

Four little bats as happy as can be.
One flies away and that leaves three.

Three little bats swooping in towards you.
One flies away and that leaves two.

Two little bats having lots of fun.
One flies away and that leaves one.

One little bat and we’re almost done!
He flies away and then there are none.

Flannelboard: Five Little Owls

 

Handout/Craft/Game/Activity

We made paper plate owls today for a craft.  I got the idea from huppiemama.  You need paper plates, crayons, glue, and pre-cut owl eyes (you could also use googly eyes), feet and beak.  I found all these online in google images.  I printed them onto colored paper/construction paper.  I had the kids fold their plates first and then color them.  We glued on our pieces last.  They turned out so cute and the kids had a lot of fun with this craft!  My sample shows googly eyes, but we actually used pre-cut eyes that I printed onto yellow paper.  I ran out of craft materials and had to pull my original eyes off my sample to hand out.

Owl craft

How It Went

Maybe it’s the weather, but I had some antsy kids today in storytime.  Also, my first group was small and my second group was huge!  I really think that this theme is appropriate for this time of year.  The kids and parents enjoyed the storytime today and the craft really kept their attention.  The favorite books today were Cock-a-doodle-hoooo! and Wise Up, Silly Owl!  Not surprising, since they were the funniest of them all!

Leave a comment