Camping

Standard

The Plan

Books

camping books

Just Me and My Dad by Mercer Mayer
Camping Day! by Patricia Lakin
Duck Tents by Lynne Berry
A Camping Spree With Mr. Magee by Chris Van Dusen
 

Extension Activities

Action Rhyme/Song: “I Feel So Crazy So I Jump in the Soup” by Laurie Berkner’s Victor Vito cd

Victor Vito

Action Rhyme/Song: Did You Ever Go A-Camping?

Sung to: Did You Ever See a Lassie?

Did you ever go a-camping, a-camping, a-camping?
Did you ever go a-camping and sleep in a tent?
Did you ever go a-camping, a-camping, a-camping?
Did you ever go a-camping and see a raccoon?
Did you ever go a-camping, a-camping, a-camping?
Did you ever go a-camping and hike in the woods?
Did you ever go a-camping, a-camping, a-camping?
Did you ever go a-camping and fish in a boat?
Did you ever go a-camping, a-camping, a-camping?
Did you ever go a-camping and have a campfire?

Action Rhyme/Song: A-Camping We Will Go

Sung to: The Farmer in the Dell

A-camping we will go,
A-camping we will go,
Heigh-ho, off we go,
A-camping we will go.

Additional:
First we pitch our tent.
Then we chop our wood.
We light our fire now.
We cook our dinner now.
Time to go to sleep.

Action Rhyme/Song: Campfire Hokey Pokey

Sung to: Hokey Pokey

You put your marshmallow in,
You take your marshmallow out,
You put your marshmallow in and you shake it all about,
You do the campfire pokey,
and you turn yourself about,
And that’s what it’s all about!

hotdogs, fish, s’mores, pizza, hamburgers, etc.

Action Rhyme: Five Little Campers

Five little campers sitting in the sun,
The first one said, “I’d like to have some fun.”
The second one said, “Let’s all go for a cool swim.”
The third one said, “I’ll ask a grown-up to watch while we’re in.”
The fourth one said, “Let’s get our safety vests.”
The fifth one said, “We’re the best.”
“O-O-O-O-H,” went the parents.
“Yeah!” went the kids.
And the five little campers began to swim.

Handout/Craft/Game/Activity

We roasted real marshmallows over my construction paper campfire that I made and put in the center of the room.  I bought the giant marshmallows and put them on skewers and the kids pretended to roast them.  We repeated the Campfire Hokey Pokey song before eating them.  The kids had a fabulous time with this!

How It Went

This was such a great storytime today.  The kids had so much fun with all the songs and got a kick out of the fake campfire.  They absolutely loved roasting their marshmallows at the end and eating them.  At least marshmallows don’t usually pose an allergy threat to anyone.  I also want to add that the kids really enjoyed the I Feel Crazy So I Jump in the Soup song by Laurie Berkner.  I started out by telling the kids that my favorite thing to make when I’m camping is…soup.  The favorite books were A Camping Spree With Mr. Magee and Camping Day.  Just Me and My Dad was also appreciated.  The Little Critters books are always my favorites to include in storytime.

Leave a comment