Love

Standard

The Plan

Books

love books

Woof: a love story by Sarah Weeks
Hedgehug: a sharp lesson in love by Benn Sutton
Froggy’s First Kiss by Jonathan London
Love Monster by Rachel Bright
 

Extension Activities

Action Rhyme: Five Pretty Valentines

Five Pretty Valentines waiting at the store.
(name) bought one and then there were four.
Four pretty Valentines shaped like a “V”
(name) bought one and then there were three.
Three pretty Valentines said “I love you”
(name) bought one then there were two.
Two pretty Valentines, this was so much fun.
(name) Bought one and then there was one.
One pretty Valentine sitting on the shelf.
I felt sorry for it, So I bought it for myself.

Action Rhyme: The Love Bug

It begins with a grin       
(smile broadly)
It turns to giggle              
(put both hands on mouth and giggle)
You start to laugh    
(throw head back and laugh out loud)
Your legs start to wiggle         
(put feet in the air and shake)
You look all around for someone to hug      
(move eyes back and forth)
What can you do      
(shrug shoulders)
You’ve caught the love bug      
(hug another child or yourself)
ACHOOO!

Action Rhyme/Song: If You Love Me and You Know It

(sung to: If You’re Happy and You Know It)

If you love me and you know it, Clap your hands.
If you love me and you know it, Clap your hands.
If you love me and you know it,
Then your face will surely show it.
If you love me and you know it, Clap your hands.
Other Verses:
Say “I Love you”
Blow me a kiss
Give me a hug

Action Rhyme: How Many Valentines?

Valentines, valentines,
How many do you see?
Valentines, valentines:
One for Father, (hold up thumb)
One for Mother, (hold up finger)
One for Grandma (middle finger)
One for Sister, (ring finger)
One for Brother, (little finger)
And here is one for you! (make heart shape with thumbs and pointer fingers)

Flannelboard: H-E-A-R-T

Handout/Craft/Game

We made love bugs today!  They are so cute and easy to prepare and the kids love them.  I pre-cut the hearts and face pieces.  I handed out glue sticks, crayons, and sticky-back foam shapes.  They glued it together, drew the line down the center for the wings and added the foam shapes.  I had sticky-back googly eyes that I also handed out.  I just love sticky-back craft products for our storytime crafts.  It’s so much easier than trying to glue everything into place.  I made sure to do the rhyme “The Love Bug” right before this craft to tie it together.  The idea for this craft came from sunflowerstorytime.  You can also find the template for this craft there.

Love bug craft

How It Went

Valentines Day is on Saturday, so this was a great theme.  We talked a little about Valentines Day at the beginning and about saying “I Love You” to others.  A couple kids were extra wiggly today, but otherwise it went great!  The favorite books of the day were Love Monster and Froggy’s First Kiss.  All the books were good ones, though.  And, of course, the craft!  They loved the craft…and it was easy.  I made sure to tell them that they could give this as a Valentine to someone special on Valentines Day.

Leave a Reply

